About the RULES of the ROAD

Yesterday, my wife dropped me off at work around 12pm. She then went onto Burnside St. While waiting at the stop light, she was rear-ended by a white minivan with an old man in it. She stepped out of the car to inspect the damage on the rear bumper and to get the other driver’s insurance infos. As she stepped out, the minivan went around our car and nearly ran into her as it flew the scene. My startled wife, unable to see the license plate, proceeded to chase the van through the Pearl District.

Unfortunately, the minivan did not respect the Rules of the Road. My wife did, rendering her unable to catch up with him.

She called the cops. Nothing they can do. They told her that 85% of fender benders are hit and run.

That sounds about right, since I firmly believe that 85% of the world population are complete assholes. How else do you explain the state of things?

My wife has muscle tear in her shoulder and is now wearing a sling. This sucks.

Every day, my wife and I are on the road and every day we see people breaking the Rules of the Road. Incessantly so. I go the speed limit on the freeway. I drive in the center lane. Yet, I get passed by speeding cars left and right, not a cop in sight except for the habitual Monday-morning-drive-to-work-up-and-down-the-hill-speeding-ticket-extravaganza.

People are jerks, and what happened to my wife is fucking outrageous. Why do we even bother having rules of the road if they are so blatantly broken?

As you might know, I am French, and we seem to have the reputation of being crazy drivers but still, we’re not as bad as Italians. We actually stop at the red lights after all.

I guess, I am just disappointed in Americans. You would think that a nation built around cars and roads would be respectful of the Rules of the Road.

Perhaps we should have no rules. Germans have no speed limits on freeways and they have less car accidents than any other European nations.

If there were no rules, there would be no rules to break. Perhaps that is the solution.

Never the less, you, white minivan guy… I hope you fucking die and rot in hell. I hope I fucking find you one day and fist fuck your eye sockets so deep, the tiny nut you use for brain spills out your fucking ears. I hate you fuck-face.

3 responses to “About the RULES of the ROAD

  1. sorry to hear that hope she’s ok now. At my job i have to call the cops on dick head drivers all the time. Hell this week i had to because some asswipe was tailgating and cut off on of my Drivers and damn near caused an accident. The kicker was the douche bag had an infant in the car.

Leave a comment